2014 Sunday Night Football schedule

2014 NFL Sunday Night Football schedule

The Sunday Night Football schedule kicks off in Seattle and is loaded with marquee matchups.

Jason Bridge-USA TODAY Sports

The Sunday Night Football schedule has been officially released for the 2014 NFL season and once again the schedule features some of the best matchups the NFL has to offer.

The schedule consists of 18 games, including special broadcast of Sunday Night Football on Thursday Sept. 4 for the season opener between Seattle and Green Bay. That could be a tough game to top, but it is only one of several games that on paper, will have major playoff implications. Andrew Luck and the Colts will travel to Denver in Week 1. The Saints and Cowboys will square off in Week 4. The Broncos will host San Francisco in Week 7 while the 49ers will host Seattle in the Thanksgiving edition of Sunday Night Football. Nine of the 18 matchups are battles of two 2013 playoff teams.

Of note, it was revealed Wednesday that the NFL can now flex games into the Sunday night timeslot beginning in Week 5. In previous seasons, Sunday afternoon games could not be moved to prime time until Week 11. The additional flexibility for Weeks 5-10 comes with the stipulation that only two games total over that span can be flexed. Per usual, Thursday, Saturday and Monday games are off limits.

Here’s the complete schedule for the season. All games start at 8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised on NBC.

Week 1, Sept. 4 (Thursday season opener)

Green Bay at Seattle

Week 1, Sept. 7

Indianapolis at Denver

Week 2, Sept. 14

Chicago at San Francisco

Week 3, Sept. 21

Pittsburgh at Carolina

Week 4, Sept. 28

New Orleans at Dallas

NBC’s flex scheduling takes effect in Week 5. All games after this point are tentative.

Week 5, Oct. 5

Cincinnati at New England

Week 6, Oct. 12

New York Giants at Philadelphia

Week 7, Oct. 19

San Francisco at Denver

Week 8, Oct. 26

Green Bay at New Orleans

Week 9, Nov. 2

Baltimore at Pittsburgh

Week 10, Nov. 9

Chicago at Green Bay

Week 11, Nov. 16

New England at Indianapolis

Week 12, Nov. 23

Dallas at New York Giants

Week 13, Nov. 27 (Thanksgiving)

Seattle at San Francisco

Week 13, Nov. 30

Denver at Kansas City

Week 14, Dec. 7

New England at San Diego

Week 15, Dec. 14

Dallas at Philadelphia

Week 16, Dec. 21

Seattle at Arizona

In this Storystream

2014 NFL schedule: NFL's upcoming slate announced

View all 21 stories